Minutes of the meeting of the TERI University Committee on Diversity, Equality and Ethics Committee

Dated: 24th April, 2017

Venue: Conference Hall, TERI University

Attendees:

Committee members

- 1. Prof. Prateek Sharma, President
- 2. Dr Priyanka Kaushal
- 3. Dr MV Shiju
- 4. Dr Basudev Prasad
- 5. Dr Ritika Mahajan
- 6. Mr Kamal Sharma
- 7. Dr Chubamenla Jamir, Convenor

Other attendees

1. Dr Rajiv Seth

The second meeting of the TERI University Diversity, Equality and Ethics Committee was held on 24th April 2017.

The following points were discussed.

- 1. The minutes of the first meeting of the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion committee held on 31st March 2017 were reviewed.
- 2. On questions in the previous meeting regarding the combining of Ethics and equality committee and also on the scope of the committee:
 - a. RS- Ethics is the mandate of this committee. Equality and diversity is part of this. Since TERI University stands by equal opportunity, "Equality and diversity" should stem out of ethical behavior and not based on laid down rules and regulation. Ethics should be the culture of the TU by default.
- 3. Scope of the committee should be to pin-point some areas of focus that will make TU a highly ethical university. It is also within the scope of the committee to draft principles for ethical conduct for faculty as well as for visiting faculty.

- 4. The existing "Faculty/ students/ administrative code of conduct". TERI Honour code can be used as a point of reference.
- 5. The committee during the meeting also reviewed the 'Honour code' in the existing TU students' handbook. The committee suggested the following changes to be made:
 - a. 'Consuming intoxicants' to be removed
 - b. Tampering any university document (e.g., log books)
 - c. Disrupting peace and social well-being in the university
 - d. Causing physical/mental assault/ theft on the University premises.
- 6. The committee suggested that the fees waiver can be introduced for meritorious students from Below Poverty Level (BPL) families for an x% of seat per programme.

Copy to:

- 1. Registrar TERI University
- 2. TERI University Diversity, Equality and Ethics Committee

Dr Chubamenla Jamir

Convenor