Minutes of the meeting of the TERI University Committee on Diversity, Equality and Ethics Committee

Dated: 30th March, 2016

Venue: Conference Hall, TERI University

Attendees:

- 1. Prof. Prateek Sharma, President
- 2. Ms Fawzia Tarannum
- 3. Dr MV Shiju
- 4. Dr Basudev Prasad
- 5. Dr Ritika Mahajan
- 6. Dr Priyanka Kaushal
- 7. Mr Kamal Sharma
- 8. Dr Chubamenla Jamir, Convenor

The newly formed TERI University Diversity, Equality and Ethics Committee held a meeting on Wednesday, 30th March 2017 at 3.00pm.

The following points were discussed.

- 1. The minutes of the first meeting of the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion committee held on 24th February 2016 were reviewed. The Members expressed their interest to know the progress made with respect to the following actions listed in the Minutes of the meeting dated 24.02.2016.
 - a. Action No. 1 whether the policy document has been provided in the welcome kit to new faculty and students (2016-2017 batch) at the time of registration.
 - b. Action 2c celebration of the National Integration Day
 - c. Action 3a, b Talks by leading sociologist
 - d. Action 6 TU Equality report 2016
- 2. The committee recommend that the university should restrict itself only to observation of the three National Holidays, (i) 26th January Republic Day, (ii) 15th August Independence Day, (iii) 2nd October Gandhi Jayanti. The committee also recommends that the University will not encourage celebration that has any regional, cultural, racial annotation.
- 3. The Committee would integrate the progress of the Ethics Committee 2015-16 in the next meeting. Dr Ritika Mahajan (Formerly member of the TU Ethics Committee 2016) will

brief the committee in the next meeting and share the minutes of the meeting with committee before the next meeting.

4. The next meeting will be held in a 10-15 days time based on the best available date.

Dr Chubamenla Jamir

Convenor