# MSc Environmental Studies and Resources Management MSc Climate Science and Policy Department of Energy and Environment TERI School of Advanced Studies

Study tour to Sikkim 2<sup>nd</sup> to 7<sup>th</sup> March, 2019

#### **Learning objectives:**

- 1. To explore the various environmental management and sustainability aspects in the state of Sikkim
- 2. To understand man-environment relationship wrt access to natural resources and livelihood opportunities in the region.

# Day I: 2<sup>nd</sup> March

Delhi to Bagdogra- Flight (arrive in the afternoon)

Bagdogra to Sikkim

Homestay

### Day 2: 3<sup>rd</sup> – 6<sup>th</sup> March

Sikkim-

Activities: Visit to dairy clusters and organic farms, Kachiripali lake, Namchi town for studying urban planning and smart city aspects, local heritage and cultural sites, interaction with local communities

Study Component: During the activities listed above, the students should observe and note in their field diary the following various aspects;

Environmental management, livelihood opportunities, assessment of vulnerability and adaptive capacity, observation of existing water/ waste management practices and its linkages with traditional knowledge

# Day 4: 7<sup>th</sup> March

Leave for Delhi

## **Study Tour Coordinator**

Dr Manish Srivastava; Mr Pratyaya Jagannath

### **Student Coordinators**

Kanchan Kargwal; Soham Banerjee; Adeel Khan

# List of students for the Sikkim study tour

Sr	First Name	Registration No
No		
1	Adeel Khan	1800009MSE
2	Ajita Sethi	1800016MSE
3	Akriti Roy	1800019MSE
4	Amishi Tewari	1800022MSE
5	Bhavya Jyoti Batra	1800082MSC
6	Diti Manoj Mathew	1800088MSC
7	Gunjan Arora	1800121MSE
8	Harshit Hareshchandra Soni	1800097MSE
9	Kanchan Kargwal	1800103MSE
10	Khalid Mohamed Adam Mohamed	1800274MSE
11	Malavika Sanjay Gundawar	1800128MSE
12	Pritha Chakraborty	1800156MSC
13	Raj	1800160MSE
14	Rakhi Chaudhary	1800163MSE
15	Sakshi Mowall	1800181MSE
16	Sakshi Tiwari	1800182MSE
17	Shaaranya Mishra	1800194MSE
18	Shikhita Gupta	1800198MSC
19	Shraddha Verma	1800269MSE
20	Shubhi Goel	1800270MSC
21	Sneha Gupta	1800211MSE
22	Soham Banerjee	1800213MSC
23	Sumedha Singh	1800225MSE
24	Tulip Kumar Das	1800236MSC
25	Vaibhav Srivastava	1800240MSE
26	Veena Cp	1800244MSC
27	Vivek Bhardwaj	1800248MSE
28	Pratyaya Jagannath	Coordinator
29	Manish Shrivastava	Coordinator