Get More Info!



  • TERI SAS is accepting CAT score for 2020 admissions.
  • Applications for PhD admissions are open

Dr Leena Srivastava Dr. Leena Srivastava Vice-Chancellor, TERI SASDr. Leena Srivastava is the Vice Chancellor of the TERI School of Advanced Studies, New Delhi – an inter-disciplinary higher education institution, focussed on sustainable development. She worked for over three decades on research in the areas of energy, environment and climate change policies at The Energy and Resources Institute - TERI, from where she left as Executive Director. She has a Masters in Economics from the University of Hyderabad and a Ph.D in Energy Economics from the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore, India.

She is an Independent and Non-Executive Director on the Boards of Bharti Infratel Ltd. and Shree Cement Ltd., India. She is also on the Sustainable Development Advisory Board, Caterpillar Inc. USA; the Advisory Board of Cairn Energy, Vedanta Resources and Consocia Advisory, India.

At a think tank/science level, she is a Co- Chair, Science Advisory Group, UN Secretary Generals 2019 Climate Action Summit; and Co-Chair, Future Earth; member of the President's Advisory Group on Climate Change and Sustainable Development, Asian Development Bank; the International Advisory Panel of Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy, Germany, the Carbon Trust Advisory Panel, UK;. the Research Advisory Committee, WWF-India, Council of Advisors for Fraunhofer, India.

In 2008, the Prime Minister of the Republic of France awarded Dr Srivastava with the Knight of the Order of Academic Palms (Chevalier dans l'Ordre des Palmes Academiques). She has also received a Certificate of Recognition from the Prime Minister of India, Dr Manmohan Singh, and the IPCC for her contribution to the work of the IPCC. She has also been invited as a Richard von Weizsacker Fellow of the Robert Bosch Stiftung in 2012/13.

Dr Srivastava is on the Editorial Board of Environmental Innovation and Societal Transitions and she has a number of publications to her credit.

Message from Vice-ChancellorWith the world grappling to transform itself towards sustainable development – resolving “to free the human race from the tyranny of poverty and want and to heal and secure our planet” – every stakeholder in this process would need to align with the broad goals of sustainable development and mobilise as many as possible to do the same. We have set ourselves a path by which we hope to contribute towards creating a movement towards sustainable development in all its dimensions and across all walks of life. We have, therefore, identified new programmes and experiential learning tools that will be implemented in the short term to plug the gaps towards a more systemic handling of sustainability.

In this effort, the TERI SAS will be seeking to aggressively strengthen it’s partnerships, both nationally and internationally. The upcoming new campuses in Hyderabad and Gauhati will not only increase the supply of sustainability professionals in the country but also provide a strong platform for continuous learning.

The University is also stepping up it’s research programme to contribute more effectively to the data and knowledge gaps on sustainability that exist in the country. Engaging the Masters students as well in this effort prepare them better for the work place challenges and would also help meet a national need.

List of previous Vice Chancellors at TERI School of Advanced Studies:  

Dr Bhavik Bakshi (2010 - 2012)
Dr P P Bhojvaid (2009 - 2010)
Dr Vibha Dhawan (2005 - 2008)
Dr T P Singh, Director (2003 - 2004)

Talk to Vice Chancellor

*Please note that spam/obscene messages or disrespectful comments will not be entertained.